The Core of the Republican Base?

I really don’t know how to react to this video.  Part of me is absolutely stunned.  Part of me is terrified.  Part of me just wants to laugh.

Let’s roll the tape:

Really though, it’s disappointing more than anything else.   We wonder how Bush won two terms in office or that the reputation of the United States is laughable around the world.  Pundits wonder why Obama is up by only 8 points in this race – stating everything is going the Democrat’s way.  But the ignorance across a wide swath of this country refuses to vote on issues.  More so, they refuse to be educated.  Yes, I am very disappointed.  I truly believed we are at a point in our history that we finally could say we are not judged on the color of our skin, our chromosones, or religion and that we truly are judged on the content of their character and a person’s ideas.  I am not an expert on race relations, and that’s why it’s so sobering to watch a video like this.  In my Northeast liberal environment you simply are shielded from these views that and sometimes forget that the nation is not so unbiased.

So, as the pundits are left wondering why Obama isn’t up by more than 8 points – is it because he is an African American or poor ideas?  I am left to wonder, seeing videos like this, why he is up this much.  Because, many people don’t vote on the issues – they vote on rhetoric and sound bites.  They vote this way because they refuse or are ignorant to the facts.  I don’t mind someone voting for conservative ideals, but be educated on them and their impact.

But I am left with hope.  Why?  Because in spite of these voters, Obama is still up in the polls.  It means we have made progress, maybe not as much as he should – but it is moving forward.   Four years ago Obama gave the key note address at the Democratic National Convention.  At the time people said he was the future of the Democratic party.  After the election, Hillary was considered the front runner.  I though to myself, that’s great but that can’t happen in four years – a woman or African American winning the White House.  With Obama on the precipice of history, I am so glad to have been so wrong.  It makes me realize, the proper reaction to this video is not to laugh or be stunned or terrified, but to have hope that things are changing.

Leave a Reply

