The Smartest People in the World Endorse Obama!

An Open Letter from Nobel Laureates, including EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THIS YEAR’S RECIPIENTS: 

An Open Letter to the American People 

This year’s presidential election is among the most significant in our nation’s history. The country  urgently needs a visionary leader who can ensure the future of our traditional strengths in science and technology and who can harness those strengths to address many of our greatest problems: energy, disease, climate change, security, and economic competitiveness.  We are convinced that Senator Barack Obama is such a leader, and we urge you to join us in supporting him.

During the administration of George W. Bush, vital parts of our country’s scientific enterprise have been damaged by stagnant or declining federal support. The government’s scientific advisory process has been distorted by political considerations. As a result, our once dominant position in the scientific world has been shaken and our prosperity has been placed at risk. We have lost time critical for the development of new ways to provide energy, treat disease, reverse climate change, strengthen our security, and improve our economy. We have watched Senator Obama’s approach to these issues with admiration. We especially applaud his emphasis during the campaign on the power of science and technology to enhance our nation’s competitiveness. In particular, we support the measures he plans to take – through new initiatives in education and training, expanded research funding, an unbiased process for obtaining scientific advice, and an appropriate balance of basic and applied research – to meet the nation’s and the world’s most urgent needs.

Senator Obama understands that Presidential leadership and federal investments in science and technology are crucial elements in successful governance of the world’s leading country. Wehope you will join us as we work together to ensure his election in November.


Alexei Arikosov Physics 2003 Roger Guillemin Medicine 1977 Peter Agre Chemistry 2003 John L. Hall Physics 2005 Sidney Altman Chemistry 1989 Leland H. Hartwell Medicine 2001 Philip W. Anderson Physics 1977 Dudley Herschbach Chemistry 1986 Richard Axel Medicine 2004 Roald Hoffmann Chemistry 1981 David Baltimore Medicine 1975 H. Robert Horvitz Medicine 2002 Baruj Benacerraf Medicine 1980 Louis Ignarro Medicine 1998 Paul Berg Chemistry 1980 Eric R. Kandel Medicine 2000 J. Michael Bishop Medicine 1989 Walter Kohn Chemistry 1998 N. Bloembergen Physics 1981 Roger Kornberg Chemistry 2006 Michael S. Brown Medicine 1985 Leon M. Lederman Physics 1988 Linda B. Buck Medicine 2004 Craig C. Mello Medicine 2006 Mario R. Capecchi Medicine 2007 Yoichiro Nambu Physics 2008 Martin Chalfie Chemistry 2008 Marshall Nirenberg Medicine 1968 Stanley Cohen Medicine 1986 Douglas D. Osheroff Physics 1996 Leon Cooper Physics 1972 Stanley B. Prusiner Medicine 1997 James W. Cronin Physics 1980 Norman F. Ramsey Physics 1989 Robert F. Curl Chemistry 1996 Robert Richardson Physics 1996 Johann Diesenhofer Chemistry 1988 Burton Richter Physics 1976 John B. Fenn Chemistry 2002 Sherwood Rowland Chemistry 1995 Edmond H. Fischer Medicine 1992 Oliver Smithies Medicine 2007 Val Fitch Physics 1980 Richard R Schrock Chemistry 2005 Jerome I. Friedman Physics 1990 Joseph H. Taylor Jr. Physics 1993 Murray Gell-Man Physics 1969 E. Donnall Thomas Medicine 1990 Riccardo Giacconi Physics 2002 Charles H. Townes Physics 1964 Walter Gilbert Chemistry 1980 Roger Tsien Chemistry 2008Alfred G. Gilman Medicine 1994 Daniel C.Tsui Physics 1998 Donald A. Glaser Physics 1960 Harold Varmus Medicine 1989 Sheldon L. Glashow Physics 1979 James D. Watson Medicine 1962 Joseph Goldstein Medicine 1985 Eric Wieschaus Medicine 1995 Paul Greengard Medicine 2000 Frank Wilczek Physics 2004 David Gross Physics 2004 Robert W. Wilson Physics 1978 Robert H. Grubbs Chemistry 2005

The views expressed in this letter represent those of the signers acting as individual citizens. They do not necessarily represent the views of the institutions with which they are affiliated. The  Medicine award is for “Physiology or Medicine.”





One Response

  1. Thought I tell you I have two friends who voted for Buesh twice, I’ve given them your blog address and other info on the race you’ve sent me , and I talked to them personally … they’ve had with Bush, and don’t care for McCain, and also said that Pailin scares the hell out of them!

    I’m working at the grassroots office making calls, and a few people who were on the fence told me their voting for Obama, I hope they’re not “funn’n” me.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: